Gifts in Kind

style spy: an eye on living and dressing well

T&C’s essential holiday shopping guide. (This is an election-free space.)


Photos by James Wojcik Styled by Will Kahn Props styled by ANGELA CAMPOS AT STOCKLAND MARTEL Ribbon illustrations by Justin Giunta

Princesses Studying Stateside

They'll have to leave the tiaras in their dorms, but these coeds won't ever look common.

Princess Olympia:

  • Altuzarra Bag ($1,495), bergdorfgoodman.com
  • Jamie Clawson Macbook Cover (From $150), jamieclawson.com
  • Yossi Harari Earrings ($3,780), twistonline.com

Princess Iman:

  • Burberry Jacket ($5,750), burberry.com
  • Ag Skirt ($148), agjeans.com

Princess Mafalda Cecilia:

  • Chanel Backpack ($3,800), 800-550-0005
  • Forevermark by Jade Trau Rings ($2,900 Each), forevermark.com
  • Tabitha Simmons Boots ($1,045), tabithasimmons.com

Gisele Bundchen:

After a deflating year, football’s most photogenic spectator deserves a new roster of coats.

  • Brunello Cucinelli (Price on Request), 212-334-1010
  • CH Carolina Herrera ($1,485), 212-744-2076
  • The Row ($1,750), net-a-porter.com

Wendi Deng Murdoch

Global Citizen

Pieces for vacations with travel buddy Ivanka. We hear Russia is beautiful this time of year!

  • Weekend Max Mara Bag ($1,295), weekendmaxmara.com
  • Franck Muller Diamond Watch ($68,200), neimanmarcus.com
  • Chiara Boni La Petite Robe Dress ($650), neimanmarcus.com
  • Stuart Weitzman Heels ($498), stuartweitzman.com
  • Rimowa Electronic Tag Suitcase ($965), rimowa.com
  • Pologeorgis Fox Hat ($795), pologeorgis.com

Maye Musk

First Mom on Mars

The mother of billionaire Elon has a skyrocketing modeling career. Here, things to add to her orbit.

  • Astier De Villatte Plate ($148), abchome.com
  • Bibi Van Der Velden Opal Ring ($15,525), bibivander
  • Prada Bag ($1,990), prada.com
  • Jaeger-Lecoultre Rendez-vous Moon Watch ($44,100), jaeger-lecoultre.com
  • Andrea Fohrman Onyx and Diamond Earrings ($4,500), net-a-porter.com

Brilliant origins

This encounter sparked lasting creations.

They ran in the same Paris circles, but when Salvador Dalí and Fulco di Verdura met, in 1941, it was in the Virginia countryside. Both were staying at arts patron Caresse Crosby’s Thomas ­Jefferson–designed estate in Bowling Green. “The visit,” Verdura said, “turned out a tremendous success.” He and Dalí collaborated on five jewelry pieces, which debuted at the Museum of Modern Art. Seventy-five years later Verdura nods to the surrealist archival designs in its newest collection, Out of This World.

tracee ellis ross

Gold Class

Her Emmy nomination for Outstanding Leading Actress in a Comedy is historic. So are these jewels.

Clockwise From Top Left: Verdura Earrings ($18,000), Gold Necklace ($14,750) With Pendant Brooch ($42,750), Black Jade Cuff ($24,250), Star Sapphire Pendant Brooch ($39,000), Gold and Ruby Ring ($4,500), and Gold and Diamond Earrings ($3,750), verdura.com


Arianna Huffington

Restless Dreamer

She quit HuffPo for a company focused on sleep. Working from bed is encouraged.

  • F.R.S for Restless Sleepers Blouse ($635), net-a-porter.com
  • Uma Pure Rest Wellness Oil ($85), umaoils.com
  • Alberta Ferretti Slippers ($1,090), 310-652-9000
  • Lfrank Sleep Mask ($125), lfrankjewelry.com
  • Fitbit Sleep-tracking Bangle (From $130), fitbit.com
  • Loro Piana Robe ($3,650), loropiana.com
  • Yves Delorme Sham ($130), usa.yvesdelorme.com

Nick Denton

Forced Retiree

Since Gawker’s bankruptcy, he’s paid not to work. How to fill the time? Try stirring a pot.

  • Williams-Sonoma Monogrammed Apron ($40), williams-sonoma.com
  • Le Creuset Raymond Loewy Set ($750), lecreuset.com
  • Officine Gullo Range (From $39,000), officinegullo.com

Maurizio Cattelan

Artist in Residence

His solid gold toilet made it to the Guggenheim. Next up: overhauling his medicine chest.

  • Triumph & Disaster A+R Soap ($14), designmenagerie.com
  • August Grooming Ivory Vanity Comb ($55), augustgrooming.com
  • Buly 1803 Shaving Cream ($44), mrporter.com
  • Mad Et Len Terre Noire Amber Potpourri ($145), abchome.com
  • Bottega Veneta Parco Palladiano I ($295), bergdorfgoodman.com
  • Aesop Double Edge Razor ($105) and Shaving Brush ($63), aesop.co

Kate Moss

Agent of Change

Pretty things for the model rep who claims she doesn’t want just pretty faces.

  • Guerlain Four Seasons Fragrance Collection ($15,000 Each), guerlain.com

Daren Metropoulos

New Homeowner

The Twinkies heir paid $100 mil for the Playboy Mansion. After a fumigation, a reno is in order.

  • Lasvit Chandelier ($11,300), lasvit.com
  • Res Ipsa Loafers ($235), resipsausa.com
  • Igne Roset Rug (From $760), ligne-roset.com
  • B&B Italia Chair ($3,265), bebitalia.com
  • Poliform Tables (From $2,000 Each), poliformusa.com
  • La Perla Jacket ($2,615), laperla.com
  • Restoration Hardware Ping-pong Table ($4,995), restorationhardware.com
  • Baccarat Martini Glass ($250), baccarat.com

Hot wheels

Put a big red bow on the hood of this shiny new toy.

Elizabeth Taylor and Frank Sinatra drove the Lincoln Continental to icon status. Now in its 10th generation, the 2017 has a sleek body and luxuries like massaging seats and automated parking. Lincoln Continental Black Label (From $62,915), lincoln.com


Bobby axelrod

Bad Boy Billionaire

Toys for traders, like the one Damian Lewis plays on Billions (back February 19).

  • Cobalt Valkyrie-x Private Plane ($1.5 Million), neimanmarcus.com
  • Patek Philippe Doublefaced Watch ($2.2 million), Top, 212-218-1240
  • Osklen Fish Skin Skateboard ($9,000), maison-de-mode.com
  • Hublot Laferrari Sapphire Watch ($575,000), Middle, hublot.com
  • Atelier Swarovski Daniel Libeskind Chess Set ($15,000), maison-de-mode.com
  • Richard Mille Watch ($1.05 Million), Bottom, richardmille.com
  • Pxg Driver (Price on Request), Iron ($500), and Putter ($500), pxg.com
  • Armani/casa Tool Set ($1,460), armanicasa.com
  • SF16 Audio System ($10,000), sonusfaber.com

Prince Alexander of sweden

The Little Royal

Posh toys and clothes for playdates with George and Charlotte. Diplomacy starts early.

  • Polo Ralph Lauren Children’s Pea Coat ($250), ralphlauren.com
  • Sugarfina Gummy Euros ($7.50 Per Box), sugarfina.com
  • Radio Flyer Classic Dual Deck Tricycle ($70), radioflyer.com
  • Small but Mighty: One of thousands of playful objects that Hermès’s Petit H workshop creates from luxurious scraps. Hermes Petit H Sailboat (Price on Request), hermes.com
  • Brooks Brothers Fleece Boys Boat Shoes ($85), brooksbrothers.com

Lily grace rothschild

The Fresh Heir

Nicky Hilton and James Rothschild’s baby was born into two fortunes. Here are gifts to help her start enjoying them.

  • Oscar De La Renta Dress ($315), oscardelarenta.com
  • Coco Chanel by Isabel Sanchez Vegara ($15), barneys.com
  • Stella McCartney Cardigan ($105), 212-255-1556
  • Fendi Mini Bag ($1,500), fendi.com
  • Aldous Bertram Dollhouse (From $9,500), aldousbertram.com